Why I became a Queensland Reds fan.


  1. Because I like Rugby Union more than Rugby League.

    No offences for those NRL fans, I do like Rugby League as well, but I just prefer Rugby Union because it has real contact. Yes, it’s true, there is not a serious, massive or popular Rugby Union competition in Spain, as the main sport is real football, that you call, mistakenly “soccer”. But in Catalonia Rugby Union has its fans, and in Northern Catalonia (the French part) the USAP from Perpignan is one of the best Rugby Union teams in the French league. And guess what, the Catalan Rugby Federation was one of the founder members of FIRA-AER, although since the Francoism this honour has fallen to the Spanish Rugby Federation. Several attempts to restore the Catalan Federation as a founder member (so as well as a full member) have been done several times unsuccessfully. Shame on all of them.

  2. Because my best friend here in Australia introduced me.

    As I introduced him to watch FC Barcelona matches on SBS at 4.45 am. Yes, it’s a pain in the ass, but I was fresh as a rose to watch the game, he was always felling asleep. But he really tried to follow the games. This is real friendship, mates, and the rest is bollocks. When you are living in Queensland is much better, and easier for everybody to watch a Reds game at night or at noon (because SuperRugby has also this time shift if they are playing in South Africa or in New Zealand) with a barbie and a beer in your hand, with a reasonably good temperature (let’s admit that, it’s winter and when I’m writing this I’m barefoot and with a short-sleeve tee, this is not proper winter!), rather than watching a football match very early in the morning, with a coffee, when football matches are always watched with a beer in the hand, as well.

  3. Because Queensland Reds is the team from where I’m living right now.

    Well, yes. This a very weak excuse as Brisbane is plenty of North Queensland Cowboys fans. And if I were living in Madrid at any way I’d support Real Madrid or Atlético de Madrid (maybe the Rayo Vallecano) but I didn’t had any team to support when I came here. So now I am Red as well!

  4. Quade Cooper

    Yes, if FC Barcelona has Leo Messi, the best real football player at the moment, (one day I’ll write one post about what do you Aussies understand for “football” and why we europeans don’t like that real football is so-called “soccer”) and even maybe the best one ever (no bullshit), Queensland Reds has Quade Cooper, the best Rugby Union player at the moment. But this is not finishing here. Since I knew he was accused of burglary, my sympathy for him was bigger. A guy who has it all: money, a gorgeous girlfriend, success in sport… A burglary?? This is, without a doubt, better than the life of Maradona. By the way, when Cooper is kicking an extra point my friend and his family call him “Laptop”. Because the position of his arms before the kick. Yes, he is carrying a stolen laptop, isn’t he??? Well, anyway. Quade Cooper is really awesome.

  5. Heaps more!

    Just let’s say that “I feel it”.

So, for these and much more reasons, tonight I’ll be very very very happy if Queensland Reds will win the SuperRugby Final vs the Crusaders.

WE ARE RED!

Leave a Reply

